Spotlight on….Greg Whitehead, Licensed Insolvency Practitioner

We were delighted to be visited recently by Greg Whitehead, who told us about his work as a Licensed Insolvency Practitioner. Insolvency work is a very interesting field for our students, and we’d like to thank Greg for taking the time to come and explain more about this fascinating subject. This is what we learned about Greg and his work:

Can you tell us more about your background? 

I’m a Chartered Certified Accountant, a Licensed Insolvency Practitioner and a Fellow of the Association of Business Recovery Professionals. I’m a Director at Northpoint, a boutique North East professional practice providing business turnaround, restructuring, insolvency and forensic accounting services.

I trained and worked for KPMG and Deloitte from 1990 to 2004, when I went on my own to form Northpoint.

What type of work do you deal with?

My main work involves dealing with formal insolvency appointments, acting for SMEs in Company Administrations, Liquidations and Company Voluntary Arrangements. I have worked with companies from a diverse range of sectors including leisure (restaurants, pubs and clubs), construction industry and related businesses, charitable/not for profit, engineering, oil and gas supply chain, manufacturing, professional firms, digital/technological, transport/haulage.

What is your approach to this type of work? 

I apply a very pragmatic and practical approach. When I am asked to provide an opinion on a situation, I like to emphasise that the matter can often be resolved without the need for a formal insolvency, particularly if issues are identified and acted upon at an early stage.

